I DON’T run

Sprints maybe, but never a distance runner. Not that I haven’t tried and tried and tried. Tread mills, independently, with roommates who run…Bare foot, fancy shoes, in the water
… I’ve tried many methods. About 10 years ago I finally came to the conclusion that I’m just not made to run. Well, other than the short bursts after my kids or racing them to the door when it’s raining. I’ll have to stick with walking, biking, or an aerobics video.
I’ve been watching more and more of my friends and acquaintances on Facebook posting pictures of 5Ks they have participated in, and I’ve been invited to join them. I’d politely decline wishing I was made to be a runner but accepting I wasn’t and wait to see the pictures and hear the stories.
That is until last week. I saw posts from 2 sweet friends (within 24 hrs of each other none the less) who both had downloaded the same app and we’re finding success with it. It’s called Couch to 5K. It’s been on my mind ever since which is strange for 2 reasons. #1 remember I’m not made to run and I’ve accepted it #2 it’s not a free app. I’m frugal and thoroughly don’t believe in buying apps.
But it’s been nagging me and nagging me. So today I bought my very first app – Couch to 5K. I did my research there are a few that have a 2 week free trial, but then you need to purchase the full version. Those particular ones didn’t have as great of features as the one I decided to buy.

Me and Lil Miss getting ready to run

Me and Lil Miss getting ready to run

Now to overcome the next hurdle, doing it. I’ve found in the past it’s best to start when the excitement is still present. So I got me and the lil miss ready after breakfast.
Comfortable work out clothes – check
Hair in a poney – check
Hair band to keep the fly-aways away – check and check for little miss
Tennis shoes – check and check
Stroller cuz 2 year olds can run but 30 min would be pushing it. And nope it isn’t a fancy running stroller and we still survived.

We started the app got 3 houses down and stopped to chat w our neighbor and his new dog.
Restarted and headed to the near by cemetery. The crowd is quiet and non judgmental, and the paths are smoother than sidewalks with a stroller. Lil miss was a great rider, the app was easy to follow, and I didn’t feel like I was going to collapse at the end. Wait. I didn’t feel like I was going to die at the end!!!!! That is super uber huge for me.
Granted this was only the first session, but I think I can do this again, and I did. I’m two sessions in and only 27 left to go.

One thought on “I DON’T run

  1. Congratulations! I’m impressed that you are doing this in the morning. You are so busy getting everyone going etched. We will be praying for good results so you keep going!

Leave a comment