French Onion Chicken

noodlesI saw a similar recipe on Pinterest this week, but it called for making this into a casserole and baking it for an hour. I’m not a big casserole maker, and an hour would be too long of a wait for my hungry kids on a week night. SO I modified the recipe into a stove top dish, and it worked quite well!

2-3 chicken breast cooked and chopped into bite size pieces

1 liter box of chicken broth (I used low sodium)

16oz French Onion Dip

12 oz egg noodles

1 Cup French fried onions

I used a 12inch skillet to make everything. I started with cutting and cooking up the chicken, then putting it aside for later. In the same pan (no need to wash it) I added 1/2 the box of chicken broth and mixed in the French Onion Dip. When they were combined together fairly well, I added the egg noodles. I added in a little more broth until it was a consistency I liked…remember some of it will be absorbed into the noodles, and some will cook off making it thicker.   Mix the noodles in so they are wet to help with them cooking evenly. Bring the mixture to a boil then reduce to med-high stirring occasionally. When the noodles are done add in the chicken. Stir and let simmer for 2-3 more minutes. Plate and sprinkle French friend onions on top.

Variation, you could sprinkle some shredded cheese on top, and you could also put some French fried onions in the mixture as it cooks for a change in flavor. I haven’t tried it, but I could also see adding peas and shredded carrots to the mixture.

For my family of 4 (2 adults, 8 year old, and 3 year old) this made enough for two complete meals. Plus everyone ate it with out complaining! WIN WIN

Leave a comment